International Gandhi Peace Prize

The Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. It is a very prestigious Award and carries an amount of 10 million rupees, a citation and a Plaque. The Award is selected by a Jury under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister.

This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their outstanding contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods for amelioration of human suffering particularly of the less privileged sections of the society, contributing social justice and harmony.

The details of prize conferred to individuals and organizations from the year of its inception in 1995 to till date are given hereunder:-

2018 - Sh Yohei Sasakawa

2017 - Ekal Abhiyan Trust

2016 - Akshaya Patra Foundation and Sulabh International

2015 - Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari

2014 - Indian Space Research Organisation

2013 - Sh. Chandi Prasad Bhatt

2005 - Archbishop Desmond Tutu, South Africa

2003 - Mr. Vaclav Havel, former President of Czechoslovakia

2002 - Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan

2001 - Dr. John Hume, Ireland

2000 - Dr. Nelson Mandela and Grameen Bank of Bangladesh (jointly)

1999 - Baba Amte (Murlidhar Devidas Amte) (India)

1998 - Rama Krishna Mission (India)

1997 - Dr. Gerhard Fischer of Germany

1996 - Dr. A. T. Ariyaratne, Founder President of Sarvodaya Sharamadana Movement, Sri Lanka.

1995 - Dr. Julius K. Nyerere, former President of Tanzania

This prize was not awarded for the years 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Career Scope in Print Media

Print media are lightweight, portable, disposable publications printed on paper and circulated as physical copies in forms we call books, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. They hold informative and entertaining content that is of general or special interest. They are published either once or d →

World Wildlife Fund for Nature (WWF)

Foundation Date: September 11, 1961 Headquarter: Gland (Switzerland) President & CEO: Carter Roberts Member Countries: All the countries of the world WWF was established in 1961 by a group of passionate and committed individuals who sought to secure the funding necessary to protect places and →

What is Bitcoin?

In 2009, an unknown programmer by the name of Satoshi Nakamoto put forward a whitepaper that proposed a creation of new form of digital currency - cryptocurrency. Cryptocurrency functions the same way as regular currencies do in that its used as a means of exchange, unit of account and a store of va →

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)

Headquarter: New Delhi Function and Objective of the Organization: The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)has been established under Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 which consolidates various acts & orders that have hitherto handled food-related issues in various Ministries →