Common Wealth Of Independent States (CIS)

Foundation Date: December 8, 1991

Headquarter: Republic of Belarus

Executive Secretaries: Sergei Lebedev

Member Countries: 12

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was established December 8, 1991 the leaders of the Republic of Belarus, the Russian Federation and Ukraine signed an agreement on its establishment. Two weeks later, December 21, 1991 in Alma-Ata chapter eleven sovereign states (except the Baltic states and Georgia, which became a member of the CIS in 1993) signed the Protocol to the Agreement in which they stressed that the Republic of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine on equal footing form the Commonwealth of Independent States. The meeting unanimously adopted the Alma-Ata Declaration , reaffirming the commitment of the former Soviet republics to cooperate in various fields of foreign and domestic policy, announced the guarantees fulfillment of international obligations of the former Soviet Union. Later, in December 1993, Georgia joined the Commonwealth.

August 18, 2008 in the CIS Executive Committee received a note from the Foreign Ministry of Georgia to withdraw from the Commonwealth of Independent States. At a meeting of CIS Foreign Ministers Council in Bishkek October 9, 2008 at the initiative of the Presidency of the Commonwealth of Kyrgyzstan, it was decided to technical Georgia's membership in the CIS, according to which Georgia's withdrawal from the Commonwealth will be held 12 months after written notice of the CIS Charter depositary. Thus, in accordance with the Charter of the CIS, August 18, 2009, Georgia officially ceased to be a member of this international organization.

January 22, 1993 in Minsk at the CIS summit was adopted Charter of the Commonwealth . Ukraine did not sign it and Turkmenistan, which thus de jure are not states - members of the CIS, and can be attributed only to the states - founders and states - members of the Commonwealth. Turkmenistan at the Kazan summit of the CIS (26 August 2005) announced that it will participate in the Commonwealth as an "associate member".

Commonwealth of Independent States is the further development and strengthening of relations of friendship, good neighborliness, interethnic harmony, trust, mutual understanding and mutually beneficial cooperation between states.

CIS Commonwealth objectives

In accordance with the Charter of the CIS Commonwealth objectives are as follows:

  • Implementation of cooperation in political, economic, environmental, humanitarian, cultural and other fields;
  • Comprehensive and balanced economic and social development of the Member States in the framework of the Common Economic Space, interstate cooperation and integration;
  • Ensuring human rights and fundamental freedoms in accordance with generally recognized principles and norms of international law and OSCE documents;
  • Cooperation between Member States in ensuring international peace and security, the implementation of effective measures to reduce armaments and military spending, the elimination of nuclear and other weapons of mass destruction, the achievement of general and complete disarmament;
  • Assisting citizens of member states in free communication, contacts and movement in the Commonwealth;
  • Mutual legal assistance and cooperation in other spheres of legal relations;
  • Peaceful settlement of disputes and conflicts between states of the Commonwealth.

Career Scope in Print Media

Print media are lightweight, portable, disposable publications printed on paper and circulated as physical copies in forms we call books, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. They hold informative and entertaining content that is of general or special interest. They are published either once or d →

World Wildlife Fund for Nature (WWF)

Foundation Date: September 11, 1961 Headquarter: Gland (Switzerland) President & CEO: Carter Roberts Member Countries: All the countries of the world WWF was established in 1961 by a group of passionate and committed individuals who sought to secure the funding necessary to protect places and →

What is Bitcoin?

In 2009, an unknown programmer by the name of Satoshi Nakamoto put forward a whitepaper that proposed a creation of new form of digital currency - cryptocurrency. Cryptocurrency functions the same way as regular currencies do in that its used as a means of exchange, unit of account and a store of va →

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)

Headquarter: New Delhi Function and Objective of the Organization: The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI)has been established under Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 which consolidates various acts & orders that have hitherto handled food-related issues in various Ministries →